Virat Kohli captain once again? Former skipper leads Cricket Australia’s WC XI


The other shocking thing was that Aidram, not KL Rahul nor Heinrich Klassen, was chosen to bat at the number 5 position.

Virat Kohli, who left the ODI captaincy at the end of 2021, is now leading a 50 over team. The former Indian captain will not wear the Men in Blue cap, but the World XI cap after being selected over the likes Rohit Sharma and Kane Williamson as the leader for the World Cup team of the tournament.

Cricket Australia Named Kohli as their captain, despite the fact that he is the current leader in the tournament for runs scored. The Indian skipper Rohit sharma was not included in the 12-man squad, despite having scored more runs than David Warner.

Cricket Australia’s Team of the Tournament World Cup 2020

  1. Quinton De Kock (WK) (591 runs)
  2. David Warner (499 runs).
  3. Rachin Ravindra (565 Runs and 5 Wickets)
  4. Virat Kohli (594 runs, 1 wicket)
  5. Aiden Markram (396 runs)
  6. Glenn Maxwell (396 runs, 5 wickets).
  7. Marco Jansen (157 runs, 17 wickets).
  8. Ravindra Jadeja: 111 runs, 17 wickets
  9. Mohammed Shami (17 wickets)
  10. Adam Zampa (22 wickets)
  11. Jasprit Bumrah (17 wickets)
  12. Dilshan Madushanka (12th man) (21 wickets)

The other shocking exclusive was not choosing either KL Rahul nor Heinrich Klassen, but instead selecting Aidram to bat at the number 5 position.

Also Read

Shaheen Afridi, Pakistan’s leading wicket-taker, was also left off the list, despite having taken more wickets than Jasprit Bhumrah and Mohammed Shami who were on it ahead of him.

Dilshan Madushanka who was one of the best young players at the tournament, made the 12th man list. Gerald Coetzee of South Africa, however, did not, despite taking the fourth most wickets.

Share This Article
Leave a comment