Shreyas iyer, the new deputy captain of SKY for IND vs. AUS T20, is back in the spotlight as India captain.


Shreyas iyer is back in India Cricket Team Captaincy choices. Star batter to Vice Captain Men in Blue for IND vs AUS T20.

The Indian Cricket Team announced its squad for the upcoming India vs Australia Twenty20 series just a day following the conclusion of the ICC World Cup 2023. Suryakumar Yadav, who was expected to be the new captain of the Men in Blue team, will take over the leadership role. Shreyas iyer will be the vice captain for the last two games of the series.

Shreyas is back in the spotlight as captain. He will not be the captain, but he will be the deputy to SKY, who will lead the Men in Blue.

Suryakumar Yadav, the world’s number one batter, will lead a young Indian team against the newly-crowned World Champions. SKY will lead the side without T20 skipper Hardik Paandya. Shreyas, a reliable middle-order batsman for the Men in Blue, has been given a three-match break following the World Cup.

Also Read

Shreyas has solidified his position as the Indian team’s Number 4 with a string gritty and reliable innings, both in the Asia Cup adn in the World Cup. Shreyas is the perfect fit for India, which lacks a flexible number 4 batter.

All regular members of the team, excluding SKY Kishan and Ishan Kishan, will play in the series. Ruturaj Gaidwad will be the vice captain for the first 3 games. He led a young team to win gold at the Asian Games. Shreyas, the second-most senior member of the squad, will be the vice captain of the team in the last two games.

Shreyas Iyer back in India Cricket Team captaincy spotlight, Iyer to vice captain Men in Blue in IND vs AUS T20 series

Axar Patel returns and Suryakumar Jadav will lead BCCI’s announcement of the squad for IND vs AUS T20Is

India’s squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

*Shreyas Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru.

Australia’s tour of India, 2023 – T20I series
S.No.DateMatchYou can find out more about this at:
123rd  November1st T20IVisakhapatnam
226th November2nd T20IThiruvananthapuram
328th  November3rd T20IGuwahati
41st December4th T20IRaipur
53rd December5th T20IBengaluru
Share This Article
Leave a comment