Kiwis aim to win vs Lankans in order to keep World Cup semifinal hopes alive


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Match 41: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka – Follow live score & updates here.

NZ vs SL LIVE score: New Zealand will face Sri Lanka in the 41st game of the season ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Thursday, November 9. Sri Lanka, with no chance to advance to the semi-finals, will play for its reputation. New Zealand’s chances of making the semifinals are dimmed by their four consecutive defeats. The Kiwis, despite being in fourth place in the World Cup point table with 8 points must win the next match against Sri Lanka to keep their hopes of reaching the semifinals alive.

New ZealandNew Zealand

Also Read

New Zealand started their World Cup campaign with a strong performance, winning four of their first five matches. They appeared to be on track for a semifinal spot. Their fortunes have taken a dive after four consecutive losses. Their recent bowling performances are what has them most concerned. Injuries to their key pacers, such as Lockie Ferguson or Matt Henry, have made matters worse. However, they are confident that they can deliver a better performance against Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka is out of the race to reach the semi-finals. Nonetheless, the team is aiming to finish in the top 7 of the World Cup standings. This will qualify them for ICC Champions Trophy 2020. Kusal Mendis and his team, who currently occupy the eighth spot, will be hoping that a victory in this match could propel them into the top 7. They also want to leave the World Cup with a victory, for their pride.

sl wc 980x530 3sl wc 980x530 3

Match Details

  • New Zealand vs Sri Lanka ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match 41
  • Date & Time: Thursday, November 09
  • Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

NZ vs SL – Probable Playing XIs

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

Sri Lanka Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (c & wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

Share This Article
Leave a comment